Nichole’s Slices of Life—Books, Books, Books

8 07 2011

 I have not always loved to read.  I much preferred to watch my nightly sitcoms versus doing my homework or much less–extra reading.  I grew up in the l950’s and 1960’s.  I didn’t like that my mother was a school teacher.  I did my homework as a duty only. 

I also don’t remember being exposed to some of the great childhood and juvenile literature.  I did read certain writings of Mark Twain and of course the books that were required reading in high school.  However, none of them interested me.  When I meet former classmates–they always remind me of how smart I was in high school.  I sure knew how to fool them!

Yes, I’m plenty smart but growing up–I was very unmotivated.  I didn’t learn to love reading until I got married.  We knew that we wanted to start a family early in our marriage.  So I kept busy in our small apartment learning to cook and learning to love reading.  We had no television the first 8 years of our marriage.  By that time in my life–I had acquired a lifelong passion for reading. 

I enjoyed reading to our children.  The public library became a constant in our lives.  I especially loved reading The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis to our children.  No matter, we were always reading as a family. 

Today, I still prefer reading to watching television.  In fact, we don’t subscribe to any cable services.  Our televisions are old and are used only as screens for our movie watching. 

A couple of years ago, I discovered the writings of Irving Stone and James Michener.  Since then–I have been collecting their books.  I just finished reading Irving Stone’s –The Passions Of The Mind.  It is the biography of Sigmund Freud.  Last year I read his book: Love Is Eternal about the life of Abraham and Mary Todd Lincoln. 

Right now I’m reading Michener’s Texas.  Last summer I read his book:  Hawaii and last fall , I read his book : Alaska.  These are long books that take me weeks to read .  That is why I prefer to own them. 

I’m not one to read just one book at a time.  I keep bookmarks in 5 to 6 books at a time.  I may have a large work of fiction, a biograhy, a health book, a cookbook, and a fluff book going at the same time.

I love fluff books when I’m stressed out.  Nothing cheers me more than reading one of  L.M. Montegomery books, or a book from the Mitford series, or a book by Richard Paul Evans.  And let’s not forget the “Little House” books.  They may be grade school level reading but they nuture me in times of stress.  I never read any of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books as a child.  I didn’t know the writing of L.M. Montegomery books ( Anne of Green Gables) etc until my mid thirties. 

So I’m always reading inbetween household duties.  I never go to a doctor’s appointment without a good book.  I love to read books, touch books, look at books.  I haven’t joined the e-book fad yet.  I doubt that I ever will.  To me nothing can take the place of a good book–right in my hand.

Pictured is a collection of my music books.  Happy reading! God bless each of you!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

