Nichole’s Slices of Life, 20

10 02 2010

 

We’re digging out of our second big snow storm of the winter.  We haven’t had this kind of snow in Western Kentucky in quite a few years.  I always enjoy the first day of a good snow storm.  Provided that is—I have everything I need to survive.  I’m well stocked on food thanks to the great deals I get at the Country Cupboard in Croften, Kentucky.  We discoverd this wonderful store last July.  They buy a truckload of all kinds of goods that are slightly outdated.  Some of their goods are not outdated but are sold cheaply because they are seasonal items or have dents. 

We always take our friend, Mary, with us when we drive to Croften.  What a blast we all have.  Mary loves the coffee deals.  The past two months there have been plenty of name brand bags of coffee for about a third of the price.

My eye is always looking for the organic goods.  I have found organic  items like organic canned beans, organic cereal and toaster pastries–and some treat items like Neuman’s organic cookies.  I have also found many Kashi products like cereal and already prepared 7 grain dinner pouches. 

Many times we get good items for a dime or a nickel apiece.  Lasst week they had boxes of PowerBar brand energy bars for a nickel apiece.  They were not outdated.  I bought 120 of them and shared them with my grown children. 

There is always a great deal of variety in the foods they carry.  Jim, Mary and I look forward to our adventures at the Croften store each month.  Last week I paid only $58.00 for 4 huge boxes of groceries.

So I’m well prepared for the snow this winter.  Our pocketbook is not depleted either.  I don’t know how folks pay such high prices for the types of food we buy at the Amish store.  It is fun to get a box of cereal with the orginal price of almost $5.00 marked on it–and I pay on .50 cents. 

We’ve also saved money this winter by keeping our thermostat at 61 degrees.  We’ve gotten used to a cooler house.  We compenstate by drinking plenty of hot coffee, tea or chocolate and dressing in layers.  In fact, when I’m in a place where the heat is 72 degrees–I get too hot.  Our bodies have  adapted quite well. 

I’ve been healthier this winter.  Last winter I made about 4 trips to the doctor and stayed on antibiotics.  My nose was constantly bleeding and I always had a cold.  So far—I’ve been very healthy!

Well, this is enough excitement for a while.  Hope to write again next Week.

God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 02 2010
Roads

61 degrees is great, Nichole. Saving the planet as well as your purse — good for you!

11 02 2010
Frugal Trenches

So glad you’ve been healthy! Praise God!

3 03 2010
Elaine Wright

Sylvia,

Just read your last few stories and glad to hear that all is well with you and Art. Have you changed your e-mail yet? If so, I’d like your new address. Don’t stop your stories. I enjoy hearing about what’s going on there.

Elaine

Leave a Reply

