Nichole’s Slices Of Life, 18 When the Kettle Whistles

16 11 2009

I didn’t have any problem getting up early during the summer. It was light at 5:00 a.m. and my body responded. My body also responded when it started getting dark between 5:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. I just didn’t want to get out of bed until it was totally light.  However, that messes my day up big time.  We like to take a mile walk each morning.  It takes a long time to walk as Jim is a very slow walker these days.  It takes us about 45 minutes to accomplish our walk.  When we get back to our home-we  like to   eat a nice breakfast and say our prayers. My day was not really starting until 9:00 a.m. and I didn’t like that one bit.

You might say my day is over as far as household accomplishments are concerned— by about 2:0o p.m.  For you see—-I have to pick up my grandsons from school and take care of them until 5:00 p.m.  Thus, the whole situation was getting to me greatly.

We also have had many evenings during the late summer and fall where we had extra church services.  My days and nights were most unsatisfying to me.  I guess I’m just to0 perfectionistic in my expectations.     I’m silly to behave this way.

Finally, when I got Jim to the VA hospital in Nashville on October 20th by 8:00 a.m.– I knew that I could do better.  Actually, I decided to start drinking coffee again. I had given it up for over a year.  But I didn’t know any other way to jump start my body. 

Jim and I came up with a plan for him to bring me a cup of coffee at 4:30 a.m. (Jim gets up at 4:00 a.m.)  I sip it slowly and enjoy some time with my two dogs.  The dogs like  to cuddle with me in the early morning.  Jim comes back into our room at 4:55 a.m. to listen to the hourly news on the radio.  He then puts the tea kettle on so we can have hot water for our oatmeal.  It is my job to turn the kettle off when it whistles.  So I’ve been making it out of bed about 5:10 a.m. for almost a month now.  My days are going so much better.

The caffeine is not bothering me nearly as much as it once did. I take a powdered calcium and magnesium supplement that I drink as a tea twice a day.  I’ve been doing this for several months.  It relaxes my body.  I’m able to drink some coffee and still sleep these days. Wonderful! 

As far as other tid bits of life are concerned–I’m enjoying my new little grandson a great deal.  I’m so amazed by the miracle of human birth and development. Children are such gifts of God.  I’m so thankful to be a mother and a grandmother.

I’m enjoying my fall baking -especially the challenge to bake quality food that fits within the bounds of our Nativity fasting season which started yesterday.  This is one of my favorite Orthodox seasons of the church year.

I’m going to try to be more faithful to my blog.  Yes, I know I’ve said that before.  Well, I’m picking myself up to try again.  I need another kind of whistle to prompt me.  My inner whistle of connecting with other human beings.  Here is a  toast to another new beginning.

God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 12 2009
Roads

Nichole,
It always amazes me just how early you Americans manage to get up — but maybe that’s the only way to pack so much into the day…

At this time of year, it’s dark in London from 4pm until around 8am, and I like to get up as close to daylight as I can manage whilst still getting to work on time. So much easier in the summer when it’s light before 4am and not properly dark until gone 11pm.

12 months of summer would do me just fine, thanks !

18 01 2010
shadowlands1501

Hi, my good friend,
I apologize for not reading your blog as faithfully as I once did. Writing of late has been missing. Don’t know where it went, but I do miss it and I miss all of my blog buddies.

I hope that your holidays were filled with nothing but happy times and that you and Jim are doing well….

Miss your slices…

bye for now

Your friend,
Shadowlands

1 02 2010
nichole3

Dear Shadowlands,
I appreciate your concern and friendship so much. Thanks for giving me a little nudge.

Your friend,
Nichole

1 02 2010
nichole3

Thanks so much Roads for visiting my site again. I would love 12 months of summer too.

Nichole

Leave a Reply

