Nichole’s Summer Journal, 6/23/2009

9 07 2009

Today we didn’t have to take care of our grandsons.  We were up early to take our walk.  The youth from Wisconsin arrived at our home at 7:45 a.m.  They were eager to get to work.  Their goal was to form a frame to hold the concrete.  I had plans to pick up my daughter-in- law , Linda, and take her to an Amish store in Guthrie, Ky.

I had fun greeting the kids and asking about their evening.  I took my dogs out to greet them for the day. 

Linda and I had a wonderful trip enjoying the country scenery on the way to Guthrie.  She had never been to  this store but had heard me mention it many times.  We went through the store looking at everything two complete times.  It was hard to make up my mind what I wanted to buy. 

Later, we drove down the same highway to an Amish bakery.  Again, it was hard to decide what to buy.  We did pick up some salt rising bread and some sweet rolls for my brother and his wife, T, who is a new cancer patient. 

After I dropped Linda off at her home–I took the sweet rolls and bread by my brother’s house.  I was surprised that he gave me a check for taking care of their flowers for two weeks.  I was happy to have helped them and didn’t expect any pay.

I didn’t get home until 1:15 p.m.  Jim and I took soft drinks out  for all of the workers.  At first they were shy in accepting them but quickly changed their minds.  The heat index was 105 degrees that afternoon.

The bus picked the youth up at 2:15 p.m. Jim and I drove out towards Herndon, Ky and found a country road that took us back to 4l-A.  The road was full of Amish farms.  We had missed our usual Tuesday long day together and the country ride was a must to complete our day.

We were very happy that my sister-in-law, T came to our cancer group.  Sherry F. who is in charge of cancer services in our county gave a wonderful presentation.  T got some very good information as she begins her journey with chemotherapy soon.

We had sandwiches for supper after our cancer group.  It is now 7:55 p.m. as I write about my day.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

