Nichole’s Summer Journal, 6/19/2009

28 06 2009

It is the last day of Spring.  It is 8:19 p.m.–and is still light outdoors.  I hear a lawn mower going.

We took Tickie, ( our dog) to get groomed this morning.  When we got back from that errand, I sat down and filled out some paper work for my health insurance.

It was a cleaning day today.  Although I keep things pretty orderly –I’m not good at wet mopping my hard wood floors on a regular basis.  Vera used to sweep them for me but she is gone.  Two weeks ago, Jim and I swept and mopped for our “House Blessing” by our new priest.  I decided then that a two week schedule would be a  good goal to strive for.

So Jim swept the floors and I mopped again.  I dusted the furniture and took a small paint brush to dust pictures.  I polished my piano as the last chore.  This will probably help my allergies.  I suffered terribly last year but then I didn’t wet mop very often.  So this is my experiment. 

I was going to work on my music this afternoon but alas more paperwork awaited me.  Even though Jim is in the veteran’s health care program –his charges have been based on tax year 2008.  We had been getting some hefty bills so I called and asked if they had a “hardship” program.  They sent me some papers.  It took me two hours to fill them out plus I had to write an essay about our situation.

We took our papers to the post office and had a copy made before we mailed them.  We also picked up “Tickie” from the groomers.  We don’t have her groomed very often.  It had been 3 whole months.  But she is a long haired dog and all of our attempts to cut her hair at home have been disasters.  She looked so great.  I know she feels better.  I feel better just looking at how clean and neat she is.

Jim and I had a simple meal of lima beans, rice, lettuce, tomatoes and cornchips.  We then watched an old Cary Grant, Rosalind Russel movie, His Girl Friday.  It was just too hyper for me.   All of the characters talked too fast and the scenes were just so jabbled ( a new word I invented). 

Well, I’m glad the cleaning is done for two more weeks.  It was nice to have a day off from taking care of our grandsons.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

