Nichole’s Slices Of Life, 8

22 03 2009

Happy Spring everyone.  I have already gotten bitten by a tick.  I was just taking a hot shower and discovered one.  Thankfully the hot steam drove the tick out of it’s comfort zone and I was able to dispose of it. 

Most everyone knows by now that I’m back to substitute teaching.  I had a full week–teaching each day.  I started out at a school just three minutes from my home.  I had 1st graders and thankfully I had a full time tutor with me all day. It is always nice to have another adult in a classroom. I taught math all day.  The 1st graders actually had a homeroom and changed classes.  So I was the math teacher.  On Tuesday ,I went out about six miles in the country.  I was a second grade teacher with a more traditional classroom.  I had the same children all day and we worked through all of the subjects that I remember learning as a child.  On Wednesday, I was at a school 16 miles from my home.  This school is surrounded by beautiful farm land.  It also was a traditional classroom with my having the same students all day long.  Both of these days–I taught 2nd grade. Another nice event was that   I had the surprise of teaching a little girl that I used to babysit for.  I had not seen her in several years–so that was a nice reunion for both of us.

On Thursday, I was back to the same school as on Monday.  I was a resource teacher who went to different classrooms to help children who can’t read or scribe for themselves.  I also had a few classes where children came to me.  These were very small classes and I could give the children a great deal of help. 

Lastly, on Friday–I taught the same 1st graders that I had on Monday.  They seemed happy that I was back.  I think my last name is hard for young children to pronounce so the children call me “Mrs. B”.  I got quite a few hugs this week from many children.  I try to mix firmness with gentleness.  I try to give each child a second chance before I give a discipline mark.  I’m getting more comfortable with being in the classroom again.

I regret giving up on elementary education so fast in my work as a substitute teacher– many years ago. I tried it and I didn’t like it– so I switched to junior and senior high.  None of us can live with our choices but I think I short changed myself.  I’m learning a great deal by working with these elementary children and I don’t think there is any turning back.

Nevertheless, after a busy week–Friday night is always a treat.  I stay on such a rigid schedule Sunday through Thursday evenings.  I absolutely won’t stay up past 8:30 p.m. because I get up at 4:30 a.m.  So it is nice to stay up and watch a movie with Vera and Jim.  It is also wonderful to sleep until 7:00 a.m. on Saturday.  When I wasn’t working–I didn’t have to worry about keeping such a strict schedule and forgot what the working folk have to experience.  It is good for me to once again have a little more realization of what most people experience.  Not that I ever was a lazy person.  I’ve always worked hard around my home.  However, I could stay up until 10:00 p.m. and get up at 7:00 a.m. anytime I wanted to. 

Jim used to be the one coming up our hill at 2:30 p.m. from working at the factory.  He was the one who had to be at work by 6:00 a.m.  Now Jim is home for the rest of his life and it is I who drive up our hill in the afternoon.  I’m the one who comes in and inquires about what has gone on in our home all day.  Never could I have imagined this change of roles a year ago.  Life is certainly interesting in this household.

Well, I’m booked up at the school close to my home starting Wednesday.  I will be the librarian until spring break with the exception of one day.  I have to have my quarterly cancer checkup.  I take Jim to the Veteren’s hospital in Nashville on Tuesday beforeI begin that assignment.   And tomorrow’s assignment is yet to be discovered.  So once again life will get very busy.

I hope each of you have a great week.  I will check in again next Sunday evening.

God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

