We’re All Related

3 05 2008

* This is taken directly from my daughter Vera’s blog  http://operationmeaning.wordpress.com.

I thought that my readers may be interested in it.

Lately, there is a habit that I just can’t kick.  I love researching my genealogy.  It is one of my favorite hobbies. Mainly for right now I have been concentrating on my Mom’s side of the family.  Research is never ending. New relatives keep popping up all over the place. On many of the branches on my Mom’s side, I have traced many relatives past the 1600s.  Once you start fleshing out your family tree, then you can find out what famous people you are related to distantly and places like ancestry.com will compare your tree to the famous person’s tree.

I found out that I am very distantly related to many famous people.  For example,  I am related to Laura Welch Bush, wife of President George W. Bush.   I am her 8th cousin, 4 times removed.  I know that this relation is so minute that it is almost no relation at all. However, I still find it fascinating.  When you get down to it, everybody is related to everybody else. 

Being a writer, I was thrilled to realize that I was related to so many famous writers. Some of them I am related to more than once.  For example, on one branch of my family tree, I am the 5th cousin, 11 times removed of Percy Bysshe Shelly.  On another branch of my family tree, I am his 5th cousin, 6 times removed.

Just for the fun of it, I would like to name some of the famous writers to whom I am related.  I like to think that some of their writing talent may blossom in me.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Robert Frost, Edgar Lee Masters, Laura Ingalls Wilder, e. e. cummings, Percy Bysshe Shelly, John Steinbeck, Willa Cather, William Wordsworth, Helen Keller, Clement Moore (wrote “The Night Before Christmas”), Lucy Maude Montgomery, Robert Louis Steenson, Richard Lovelace (English Poet), Sir Walter Scott,  Robert Graves (English Poet), F. Scott Fitzgerald, Aldous Huxley, and Jane Austen.

Also, one more amazing discovery. I am the 10th Cousin, once removed of Lucille Ball. I have always admired so many things about her.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 05 2008
Roads

You’re related to John Steinbeck… hey, no wonder you write so well. I love those books.

10 05 2008
nichole3

Roads,
Of course this is Vera’s blog and all of her research. I just thought it was interesting. Thanks for dropping by.

Nichole

Leave a Reply

