The Story of Vera and Her Family, chapter 14

15 03 2008

LYNN’S MOTHER RETURNS , I TRY A NEW JOB, and LUCY AND SUGAR(THE DOGS)

As Christmas vacation was coming to an end, I knew that Lynn could not go back to school legally while living in my home. I have never been one to purposely withhold information. My mother and grandmother drilled in me the need to be honest. They also taught me that all kinds of unexpected things can happen and one does not need to be thrust into a situation where one might end up introuble with the law. Thus, I decided to file a complaint against Lynn’s mother at the court house. Since her mother could not be found, I ended up in court seeking temporary custody of Lynn. A social worker had to come and inspect my home and find out information about our family. Jim and I were granted temporary custody of Lynn.

During that time-teaching jobs were scarce again. There was a customer service opening at the print shop where Jim worked. I asked if I could apply. Jim’s boss let me work for a couple of weeks on a trial basis. All of the sudden so many calamities on the home front kept happening. Lynn fell down the stairs one afternoon and I had to take her to the doctor. Thankfully , she was just bruised up. You Vera, developed a very high fever. I asked you to try to stay home alone and you begged me not to go to work. I checked on you several times during the day. However, when I arrived home you had a fever of l04 degrees. Immediately, I took you to the doctor. The diagnosis was strep throat. With no back up baby sitters, I realized that a full time job would never work in my situation. I wondered then and I still wonder how the working poor make it with both mom and dad working. We just never had much of a support system going with relatives and friends.

The teaching jobs began to pick up. I liked subbing because I was often at a school with one or more of my children. When school was out, I helped fold all of the newspapers-then out the door you children went to deliver them. Those were busy days for all of us.

Lynn’s mother finally returned around Valentine’s day. I had to go back to court with Lynn. Her mother also had to go to the court hearing. I’m still amazed how quickly the court gave Lynn back to her mother. I was so angry at the court system. Lynn’s family continued to move from one rental home to another. The dysfunction in their family life was terrible. Lynn always seemed to want something better with her life. She was a fighter. Today she is an incredibly wonderful mother to her two children. She is happily married and one of the most creative young women I know.

Maria started using her talent for drama in a serious manner. She became involved with the speech team at her junior high school. As a seventh grader she won awards for her presentation of Alfred Noyes’ THE HIGHWAY MAN. Her redention was spellbinding. I can still see her with her long brown hair and her little petite figure belting that poem out with a great deal of passion. Those were the kinds of moments that gave us all a break from the mundane problems of life.

One hot July morning of l990, we woke up to find a little black chow mix pup on our sideporch. Sandy who was recovering from surgery on her wrist-begged us to let this little puppy be a part of our lives. I had never had a dog in my life. However, we let “Lucy” stay. She became very special to me. I began taking Lucy on long walks-especially if I had a bad day dealing with you children. Ben began climbing out of his upstairs window at night to sneak out of the house. We could never catch him. I tried staying awake and listening-but he was very clever. He would climb out on the roof and climb down the porch rails. Then he would sneak back in the house the same way. Lucy and I walked off a great deal of frustration about Ben.

On Christmas of l990, one of our little neighbor girls brought us a little beagle mix pup. She had found this pup in the snow. She was only as big as my hand. We decided to keep her also. “Sugar” was her name. There was snow on the ground that year. I was happy because I knew that I had been promised a six week job after Christmas to work for a teacher who was going to have a hysterectomy. There was a new sense of hope in my heart.

Actions

Information

9 responses

16 03 2008
spillay

I’m always amazed at how much detail you remember from the past….It shows how involved you were in your life. You remind me of my dad (this is a good thing, I assure you 🙂 ). He loves telling his stories – maybe the next time I’m in Malaysia, I’ll try to teach him to blog. How wonderful that would be!!!

Spillay xx
http://spillay.wordpress.com

16 03 2008
nichole3

Thnk you Spillay,
My little brother who follows this blog says the same thing. I guess that I don’t see what you both see. I guess I have a detailed mind. I love a good story and have always loved to sit under older people who tell them. Thanks for the encouragement.

16 03 2008
shadowlands1501

My curiousity has the better of me. What excuse did Lynn’s mother give for just up and disappearing? Where did she go and why?

16 03 2008
Suzanne Langley

I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

Keep up the good work and cheers.

17 03 2008
nichole3

Suzanne,
Thanks for visiting and commenting. I had to view your website before I approved your comment as once in awhile a spam slips through. It looks like a good website and resource. It’s impossible to write something that everyone will agree with but I try to keep my website clean, decent and wholesome. You can count on that.

17 03 2008
nichole3

Shadowlands,
Details would have to be given in a private email. I try to write so that one can get a basic idea of what went on but I don’t give deep dark secrets on my website. I’ll try to email you soon.

Your friend,
Nichole

19 03 2008
spillay

Hi. Just dropping by again to say HELLO, and to let you know that I’ve tagged you. (Not sure if you are into tags though….)

Your mission, if you choose to accept, can be found in my post at http://spillay.wordpress.com/2008/03/20/looking-at-you-and-seeing-myself/

If you do, do it,… have fun!! 😛

Take care!!

Spillay xx
http://spillay.wordpress.com

6 04 2008
David Web

Nichole:

You should know by now that courts aren’t necessarily in the business of doing the right thing. Parental rights, especilly those of Mothers hold a lot of sway in the precedent of law.

At any rate, I’m quite certain that you and Jim has a very postive influence on Lynn, and you should take comfort in that.

As for Maria and her penchant for drama, there can be be no doubt of her inate ability to practice the part of the thespian.

Little Brother

7 04 2008
nichole3

Little brother,
Actually, I don’t know a whole lot about the court system. I have seen a case where a mother was hounded by the sytem for ten years because she was a messy housekeeper. And I’ve seen Lynn’s story–where the mother got away with everything.

Love,
Sis

Leave a Reply

