The House Blessing, Part 3

29 02 2008

I had been very influenced by my Mennonite friends to simplify my life.  I liked the pattern of the Mennonite homes I had been in.  They had one large room that was the central living area.  Then they had a small parlor.  I decided to make my living room a large dining area and music room.  I had always hated the fact that my bedroom could be seen as one walked in the front door.  However, when we were raising our family–that was the biggest bedroom with the biggest closet.  After 22 years, I was ready for a change.  I decided to transform our bedroom into  our family room. 

The other bedroom on the main floor had been converted to a family area many years ago.  It was stripped down to nothing after we began giving things away.  My priest had called me up and told me that he would like to come and bless our home.  He knew how disappointed I was with not being able to move to the country.  I told him that I would rather wait until I could get some painting done.  I suggested the twentieth of October for the House blessing.  I also decided to have an open house after the blessing of our home. By giving myself a goal–I began to feel the needed adrenalin to accomplish my goal.

I found a book entitled :The Perfect Palette, by Bonnie Rosser Krims.  Her idea was to use three colors throughout one’s house that enhanced each other.   She had fifty different themes of suggestion–each with clever titles.  I chose her  Appalachia Spring theme using green, purple and yellow.  She actually had all the paint numbers available through a certain company.  I wasn’t familiar with the company that she chose–so I went to Lowes ( a home supply company) to look at their choices in my colors.   I found a paint decorating station called: Seaside Retreat that had many soft pastel colors.  A green called Secret Garden and a light purple called Violet Cloud were paired together.  I decided to wait on the yellow, for I had plenty of painting to do–until I needed the yellow.

K-Mart had a clearance sell on Martha Stewart bright white paint.  I bought five gallons at $5.00 a gallon.  It was premium semi-gloss.  One can’t imagine how thankful I was not to have to pay a premium price for white paint.  In previous years of painting different rooms in my home–I painted an entire room -ceiling, woodwork and all in one basic color.  I was determined to do everything correctly this time.  That meant a great deal of hard work in painting the ceilings, doors, woodwork in white before I could get to using my main color.

Thus, I began in the old family room.  Each day I would put on my paint clothes and painted until about 1:30 p.m.  Then I would have to take my bath and get ready to get my grandsons for the rest of the afternoon.  They wanted to help.  They had their little paint clothes.  I let them work on doors and woodwork.  I know it was time well spent–because to this day–they talk about helping me paint.  If they made a mistake, I gently went over the area with them–showing them how to use their paint brush in a better way.

I  finished the family room which would become our bedroom in that first week.  I painted it the purple color with the white trim.  Then I painted our dresser and a little bookcase in the green color.  I had put the word out to my family to check their closets and attics for curtains and paintings.  Maria had a beautiful set of curtains that I could use in my new bedroom.  I finished that room the last day of August.  Jim and I moved our furniture in to our new bedroom that evening.  We put our family portraits on the walls, hung the curtains –only to feel quite strange at sleeping in a different room.

The next room I painted was my old bedroom.  It was Labor Day weekend.  My sister-in-law came over to help repair little holes throughout the house.  That was a real gift to me –as that is not something I enjoy doing.  It took another whole week to paint our family room.  I decided to paint one wall the purple color and the other three walls the green.  Ben’s wife had some beautiful lace curtains for me to hang up.  We had a collection of rural country life pictures to hang on the walls.  We moved our couch in this room, along with our desk, computer and entertainment center.  Later, when all the rooms were painted , I painted some older chairs to complement the walls.  For instance, on the green wall with big windows, I have a little yellow rocker and a purple chair. 

I had many interruptions throughout my weeks of painting.  I didn’t always get to stick to a Monday through Friday schedule.  This greatly frustrated me but I kept pressing on.  I painted the bathroom with the purple and green.  The shower curtain, towel rack and towels have yellow to complement the purple and green.  Then I painted my hallway the purple color. 

I finally chose the yellow that I thought would be best with my purple and green.  I chose another Seaside Retreat color–a lovely pastel yellow they called  Sunrise Beach.I decided to paint  my kitchen and big dining area this color. My cabinets were already white–so I painted them with a fresh coat of white.  I had to tackle painting the ceiling , doors and woodwork in white.  Finally, I got to the yellow.  It was breathtaking.   I had an aqua blue color on the walls and it was extremely hard to cover up. It took took four coats to finally cover the blue.  I only used the most expensive, premium grade of semi-gloss but it didn’t want to cover up that blue very easily.  I had one wall that was a whitish, grey paneling that I decided not to paint.  I painted an old bookcase the yellow color to place on that wall for my cookbooks etc.  I had two wooden chairs and a little wooden chest of drawers that I painted the green color to go on one  yellow wall with the windows.

Would I ever get finished by October?….stayed tuned to find out.

God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 03 2008
David Web

Nichole:

How wonderful for you to recreate the color scheme in your house, to tastes that suit you and Jim.

There are some good things about an empty nest, although you certainly have lots of interaction with your grown children, and grandchildren.

I suppose with your healthy diet, you need not worry about grease buildup on the pastel yellow over time.

I’d love to see what all you’ve done there, but it just isn’t in the works for a visit anytime soon. My physical was fine. The blood work didn’t reveal any real problems for now. The regimin of supplements and healthier living seem to be paying off, but one never really knows, do they? Still, it makes me feel wealthy, to have my health, employment, a nice little house on a big lot, John in town, and Catherine by my side. Stephen is slowly waking up to manhood, starting to realize he will have to work toward fulfilling his ambitions, and there may even be a seed of faith there.

Little Brother

Little Brother

8 03 2008
nichole3

Dear David,
Yes, it was fun to make this old house into a completely differnt kind of home. As I sit here at the computer in this lovely family room–I’m grateful that we didn’t move. I liked reading about your thankfulness for all the blessings you have. Thankfulness is a real key to inner peace. Again, you have made my day very special.

Also, I’m very grateful that your physical turned out fine. I believe the natural supplements are very healing to our bodies.

love,
Sis

Leave a Reply

