The House Blessing, Part 1

21 02 2008

Although I’ve written a little in previous blogs about our desire to sell our home, move and start life over somewhere in the country–I’ve decided to write more detailed blogs about our adventure.  The adventure ended with our staying put, my painting some rooms and having a house blessing.  So here it goes……

About this time last year, I gave up substitute teaching.  I had gone back to work when Jim was just returning to work–after having been home recovering from an aortic dissection .  I was very pleased to have one of our high schools welcome me back.  This school gave me steady work from that time until I chose to resign the end of last February. 

I was longing for a new adventure.  Those first weeks home I began to read as many Jesse Stuart books as I could.  He is a Kentucky writer who grew up in the hills of Eastern Kentucky.  His books date from the l930’s through the early l970’s.  He can describe the beauty of nature and the character of people better than any author I’ve ever read. (Speaking of nature, Maria just called to tell me that she is watching six deer in her backyard.)

We’ve lived in the city all of our married life.  I wanted to enjoy country life the way Maria does.  I just germinated on those kinds of thoughts through early spring.  Finally, around my birthday in April, I presented my thoughts of moving to Jim.  At first, he was very reluctant about such an idea.  I must have painted a pretty picture for him because it wasn’t long until he agreed with my plan.

I knew we’d have to simplfy  our home to make moving easier.  Our basement hadn’t been cleaned out in 10 years.  It was full of ancient computers, printers, old washers and dryers, an old refrigerator and a sundry of other things.  Maria was eating dinner with us one evening when we just decided to take the plunge.  Maria wanted to be in charge of helping us get rid of our junk.  We offered to pay her for her help. 

She began by rounding up our son, Ben, to help take the old appliances to a company that pays people for scrape iron.  Maria and Ben loaded up all of the appliances and took them to the scrapyard.  It took several trips.  I was more than happy to let them have the money from the appliances.  Next, Jim was in charge of sorting through all of the computers and printers he had acquired through the years.  Jim had a habit of picking up every computer that he saw was being thrown out.  I mean– we had quite a collection in one area of our basement.  He was not very happy to give up his collection , but he knew that we would never be able to sell our home–if we didn’t thin out our possessions.  He took most of the computers and printers to a second hand shop.  They seemed glad to have them.  A few days later, Jim stopped by to see if they had actually been put on the floor to sell.  All of them were there! 

Now my weakness is collecting desks.  I had a couple of desks in the basement.  I also had two desks upstairs in our main living area.  I also had a desk in one of the bedrooms upstairs. I had a habit of using them to store stuff I didn’t  exactly want to throw out–but I didn’t know where else to stash the stuff.  I cleaned them out and gave them to the Mennonites.  I just can’t handle desks.  We now have one large desk on which our computer sits. 

Another weakness that Jim and I both have is collecting too many books.  When Jim was sick, we gave away about 600 books.  Yet our living room and family room still had too many bookcases with too many books.  We sorted through all of the remaining books until we only had two bookcases of collectibles.  We gave approximately another 800 to 1,000 books away.  We also gave away the bookcases.  Collecting books and bookcases is another temptation that we’ve decided to avoid. 

The next area was musical instruments.  In my living room, I had a spinet organ, an old upright piano and the piano that I inherited from my childhood.  I had the organ and the upright piano long before I acquired my childhood piano.  In 2003, we bought my childhood piano from one of my first cousins.  I had tried to give away the old upright piano many times.  No one wanted it.  Finally, a friend of Maria’s came and got it.  I gave the organ to someone else that Maria knew.  Thus, my living room and family room were free of two musical instruments,  two desks, and several bookcases of books.

This process went on from April of 2007 to July of 2007.  Finally, we were ready to place our home on the market.  I’ll finish today’s post by describing our home just a little.  It was originally built in the l940’s.  It was orginally just  a large square.  The living room being the largest room about 21 ft by 15 ft.  The original floor plan  for the remaining of the house was two bedrooms, a bathroom and a kitchen.  In the l960’s a family turned the attic into two large bedrooms and a half bath.  A stairwell had to be built.  Also, two large porches were added on.  We have a lovely front porch and a porch on the side of our home. The house also has a large basement that runs the whole course of the main floor.  Thus, over a period of 22 years, we had collected way too much paraphernalia. 

Stayed tuned for part 2 of our story!

God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2008
David Web

Nichole:

Perhaps you are better off without all the clutter although it’s easy to get attached to inanimate objects that hold some mysterious sway over people.

Jim probably wanted to restore the old printers and what not. Did you know a few people have a business collecting stuff like monitors and computers and selling them for recycling. Most however are exported in bulk to underdeveloped countries where they burn them just to recover the copper, gold, and scrap. The fumes are highly toxic and those that breathe them can develop serious health problems. China had a huge problem with this and has since banned the practice although it still goes on. Poverty drives people to seek any kind of relief without thinking about the long term consequences.

As Vera can tell you, our little house leaves little room to accumulate things that aren’t in use.

Little Brother

29 02 2008
nichole3

Jim always had dreams of restoring those computers and printers but he never had time. I didn’t realize that there is a business of exporting them to third world countries. The health risk just isn’t worth trying to find the treasures. I appreciate your voice on my blog. I’ve missed you lately. Glad you are back!

love,
Sis

Leave a Reply

