The Last Frontier, Christmas and Tying Up Loose Ends

26 12 2007

The last frontier concerning who I am physically is about to come to an end on Friday, December the 28th.  I’ve known I’ve had breast cancer since November the 20th.  I’ve had roughly six weeks to contemplate it.  I am glad now that I’ve had those weeks to visit with friends, contemplate by blogging, and talking things over with my family.  When I started this blog on October the 29th, I had no idea that I had cancer.  I had just had my yearly mammogram on the 27th and never gave it another thought.  Mammograms have been something I’ve had done since l988.  It was a great shock to me–when I got called back for more pictures.  This blog has been a tremendous help to me in getting my thoughts out and not suppressing them.  I’m especially touched by the sentiment shown to me by one of my younger brothers who lives in Denver, Co.  He has never impressed me as being tender hearted.  Yet over and over again, he has made loving comments to me on my blog. “Little brother, I’m so grateful for your love and tenderness.”

For the past week, the reality of what I’m facing has hit hard.  Yet, I’m not bitter.  I still know that I have no desire to blame God for this.  We live in a fallen world, and sad things happen.  I’m also learning more about cancer and how to take preventive measures.  I had my pre-op blood work done this morning.  I thought it was very interesting that the nurse told me that there is a huge increase of breast cancer patients.  I told her that had to be proof that there has to be an environmental link.  She said:”Who knows it might be something like using deodorant.”  She was just throwing her first thought into the air.  Yet, a doctor in my parish told me just this past Sunday, that anti-perspirants are actually very harmful.  They keep toxins from leaving our bodies.  My primary care physician from the MaxWell clinic told  me the same information just a few weeks ago.  Whether some people have the good fortune to eat horribly and use all kinds of toxic things–and still live to be healthy is not the point.  The point is –that there are just a few such individuals.  Most people do get bad health from eating wrong and being exposed to harmful chemicals.  I certainly intend to do everything I can to eat healthy and stay away from toxic material the rest of my life.  My blog from time to time will be the heartbeat of my passion for healthy living.

Now on to Christmas–we had a wonderful time at Sandy and Rob’s home on Saturday night.  The evening was special because Jim and I were surrounded by our four children and their spouses.  John and Alex, our grandsons, kept everyone full of merriment.  They are very special little boys.  Jim and I went to their Christmas play at their church on Sunday evening.  They were dressed up as little sheperds.  One of the gifts that Sandy gave me was a pink coffee cup with breast cancer pink ribbon.  She had bought it in October–planning on giving it to someone as a gift. In her wildest thoughts, she never could have imagined that her own mother ,would be the recipient.

We visited the little Orthodox community at Ft. Campbell, Ky. on Christmas.  Mary , our friend , went with us.  It was a wonderful service. Orthodox Christians always enjoy a meal together after the Divine Liturgy.  It is a special opportunity to get to know each other.  There were not many people at this service.  So Fr. Peter sat down and answered our questions about the Orthodox faith.  We spent at least an hour and a half just talking with Fr. Peter.  It was a memorable time.  Later that afternoon, we drove out to the country to have a special time at Maria and Kirk’s home.  Kirk, Vera, and Jim and I played several rounds of the game: Apples To Apples.  Ben and Linda came out later.  We enjoyed a pizza dinner.  Our son-in -law Kirk is an owner/operator truck driver.  He  is gone sometimes for two weeks at a time.  It was really special getting to spend some time with him.

Vera came home last Friday.  She had made it through two stressful weeks of finishing up her responsibilities at her school and packing her things.  Her room upstairs is already full of warmth and beauty.  The two upstairs rooms have been empty for some time now.  Jim and I never bothered to even go upstairs.  Now the traffic is flowing.  We watched a movie up in her room on Christmas eve.  The animals love going up to see her.  They just march up and down the stairs.  Katie, our cat, who is so scared of everything is so glad Vera is home.  Vera and I are working on a plan to help Katie overcome her fears.  So there is merriment that our daughter is home. 

I’ve been working feverishly to make sure my household is in order.  Vera is still learning the ropes.  She has still been working on writing reports on her teaching to submit to the school.  So I’ve been working on making everyone’s medicine packets for at least ten days.  We all take a great deal of vitamins.  Jim has his major heart medications.  So I’ve been making sure that everyone has enough packets of medicines and vitamins to tide us over for awhile.  I don’t want to go to the hospital on Friday morning with any doubts that my household is firm. 

The most important loose end that I’m tying up,  is to keep current with my prayers and Bible reading.  Without a faith that is anchored deep–all other areas of my life would become just surface stuff.  I have so many Christian friends that are praying for me.  I feel those prayers and I’m warmed. 

This will be my last blog for awhile.  Vera will give some kind of update about how my surgery went.  The most important thought I can leave each of you now is this: seek first the kingdom of God, take care of your bodies and show tenderness and love to all who are a part of your lives.

May God bless each of you!

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 12 2007
operationmeaning

Mom, I love you so much! I know that you will get through your surgery and all will be fine. Once again I admire your beautiful way of writing. Love, Vera

26 12 2007
nichole3

Thank you so much, Vera. I love you, too!

26 12 2007
Lynnae @ beingfrugal.net

I’m praying for you.

27 12 2007
nichole3

I will continue to say, “Keep wriing, My Dear, and keep turning your heart to Him, as that is what God desires of each of us.

“When You said, ‘Seek My face,’ My heart said to You, ‘Your face, Loed, I will seek. . . When my father and my mother forsake me, Then the Lord will take care of me. (Ps. 27:8,10)

“Blessed be the LORD, Because He has heard the voice of my supplication! The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusted in Him, and I am helpled; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, And with my song I will praise Him.” (Ps. 28:6-7)

“Oh, mannify the Lord with me, And let us exalt His name toghether. I sought the LORD, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears… This poor man cried out, and the LORD heard him, And saved him out of all his troubles. The angel of the LORD encamps all around those who fear Him, and delivers them. Oh, taste and see the LORD is good; Blessed is the man who trusts in Him! Oh fear the LORD, you His saints! There is no want to those who fear Him. The young lions lack and suffer hunger; But those who seek the LORD shall not lack any good thing.” (Ps. 34:3-4, 6-10).

I’m for you and Him always. Much love, Herman

27 12 2007
nichole3

Thank you so much for your prayers, Lynnae.
And my dear husband, thank you for all of the wonderful scripture to read this morning.–love, your sweetheart, Nichole.

27 12 2007
Genevieve

I hope all goes well, and I’ll be keeping you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

