It’s All Rolling Together!

23 11 2007

We talk to our daughter, Vera, each morning.  I was so deeply touched that she told me on Wednesday morning ,that she is moving back home the end of December to help us run the household.  Vera found out the beginning of November that the private school she teaches at would not have enough money to pay her after December.  With my having to have surgery for breast cancer, she saw this as a way to help herself and to help us.  While she is living here, she will research jobs.  Vera has never liked our small town and has always told us –that it  would never be her permanent choice of a home.  I would never have asked her to come home.  This was all her idea.  We are very grateful.

Even though all our children are grown up, we still have two active dogs and two special needs cats.  Rudy, our little chihuahua/terrior mix is twelve pounds of trouble.  She is constantly in trouble.  We never chose her as a pet. In a way, she chose us.  She has a unique story.  Sandy, my oldest daughter, got her as a puppy.  Rudy proved to be to much for her household –so Sandy gave her to Maria.  Maria’s husband was very upset that this dog entered his household–so he told her to get another home for Rudy–fast.  Maria, gave Rudy to a church friend.  This church friend gave the dog to her mother-in-law.  The mother-in-law gave Rudy to someone else.  On January 5th, 2005–I had just finished burying my two old dogs.  I had made the decision to put my 14 year old dogs down as they were full of infirmities and snapping harshly with all people.  As I was burying the dogs with Maria, I said something like this: ” I will never have anymore dogs.” 

Within as hour of burying my dogs, the phone rang.  It was my vet asking me if I would come pick up Rudy.  Rudy had gotten loose and was roaming around a McDonalds in Cadiz,Ky.  A young couple saw Rudy and chased her two miles down  Interstsate 24.  Rudy had her rabies tag on –and that is how they were able to trace down our vet.  After all that this couple went through to rescue Rudy–we decided to keep her.  My other dog , we got six months later.  That is another special story but I’ll save it for later.  Tickie is a full blooded Shih Tzu.  We didn’t pay any money for her.  She is hard to take care of in that her coat is so easily matted.  We also have two old cats that will probably not make it much longer.  So Vera coming home is a real blessing .  I don’t think I could possibly take care of these animals by myself .

Jim’s new schedule is turning out to be a blessing also.  Even though he works 12 hour shifts, he will actually be off more days than his former Monday through Friday schedule. He likes the machine he is on.  It was the machine he started on back in l993,  God has myterious ways of bring many different types of circumstances together for His Divine purpose.

And now to Thanksgiving.  All of my children and grandchildren were able to join us at the Pennyrile State Forest Park to enjoy a delicious meal.  Brad, my brother from Nashville, also came.  We always have Thanksgiving at Brad’s home.  This year, his wife Susan’s father is battling cancer.  So Susan went home to be with her family.  Everyone came back to our home for awhile.  Vera got a table game going –the rest of enjoying just talking.  Oh, I did get amused at 5 year old John.  Jim made the mistake of asking John if he was enjoying his “dead”turkey.  John was horrified to learn that turkeys had to be killed for our meal.  So he would not finish his turkey.  He has learned so much about turkeys and Thanksgiving in his kindergarten class–that his little mind just could not handle the negative.

I’ve truly been peaceful and content.  I’m trying to enjoy each day and just know that I only have to travel this journey of recovering from cancer , one day at a time.  Truly, life is rolling together.  Already we’re seeing that:And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

May God’s richest blessings be with each of you!

Actions

Information

One response

23 11 2007
Maria

I am glad that you shared Rudy’s special story. It is quite fascinating, isn’t it? I can’t wait to see what you write about Ticky. Yes, Thanksgiving (yesterday) was nice. I see the format for your Blog Page has changed. Maria

Leave a Reply

