The Psalms, Olive Oil and More Helpful Websites

14 11 2007

     Jim and I follow the Orthodox Lectionary each day.  However, we each have our own personal Bible readings.  Each morning I read a chapter from the Gospels, a Psalm, and a chapter from the Old Testament.  Currently, I’m  reading the book of Exodus.  This morning I read Psalm 136.  “Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!  For His mercy endures forever.”  This Psalm goes on the describe all of mighty things the Lord has done.  After each description,  this first verse is quoted again.  What a wonderful way to begin my day and to prepare for Thanksgiving next week.

     Now about olive oil.  Lynnae from: www.beingfrugal.net asked if olive oil changes the flavor of baked goods.  I’ve honestly not been able to tell any difference.  I just can’t stress how important it is to stay away from margarine, shortenings and regular peanut butter.   One has to be relentless in checking labels for hydrogenated vegetable oils.  Each product claims to have no Trans Fat.  However, in the ingredients it always states it has hydrogenated oil.  I’ve been slack at times in checking labels but I’m trying very hard to be more alert. 

     In the book: Spontaneous Healing by Andrew Welil, M.D., he writes this about olive oil:  “Olive oil appears to be the best and safest of all edible fats.  The body seems to have an easier time handling its predominant fatty acid, oleic acid, than any other fatty acid.  Replacing saturated fat in the diet with olive oil leads to reduction of bad cholesterol (wheras replacement with polyunsaturated vegetable oils lowers good cholesterol as well).”

     My grandmother helped raise me.  She survived two heart attacks.  In her day the corn oil margerines. etc were considered wonderful over and against using butter.  Today, we know all of these margerines are dangerous.  It is actually better to use butter in small amounts.  I try to adapt all baking recipes with olive oil and using pumpkin and bananas instead of eggs.  It takes time to get use to this, but it is well worth the effort.

        I had mentioned making healthier brownies in a recent post.  Here is the recipe.  In a blender combine four bananas and one and a half cups of water.  After they are blended, add 8 tablespoons of cocoa, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder.  Blend again.  Pour this mixture in a bowl and add 2 cups of raw sugar , 1 cup of whole wheat  flour and 1 cup of unbleached white flour.  Place in a large baking pan and bake on 300 degrees for about a half hour.  It is done when the edges start pulling away from the pan. 

     Mary Hunt from www.cheapsakemonthly.com recently posted this recipe for cupcakes.  You take any flavor cake mix and mix it with one 15oz can of pumpkin and 1/2 cup of water.  This makes 24 cupcakes.  I haven’t tried this yet but she says that the pumpkin does not leave it’s taste. 

      I check Mary Hunt out each morning.  She has many tips for saving money.  I also check out Lynnae’s blog each day.  She is a young mother of two children who has many good ideas for saving money.  She also refers her readers to many other wonderful money saving websites.  Through Lynnae’s blog , I learned about www.thesimpledollar.com .  This young man gives us book reviews, recipes and all kinds of wonderful things.  Finally, another favorite blog of mine is: www.charmingthebirdsfromthetrees.blogspot.com .  This is a young mother and a wife of an Orthodox priest.  She is absolutely as charming as her blogspot name.  I actually didn’t find her through any Orthodox searches but through checking out different homemaking blogs. 

     Today, I will make a fasting chilli as we prepare to enter the Navtivity Fast.  If it comes out good, I will share the recipe.  Have a wonderful day!

Actions

Information

One response

16 11 2007
Vera

Thanks for your tips on healthy living. However, food always seems to be a strong hold for me. I hope that through the fast this Advent that God will show me how to have more control over that area of my live.

Leave a Reply

