Dogs, Cats, They Keep Me in Line and other Musings

12 11 2007

    I’ve never been one to love the early morning.  I learned to except having to get my day started early when my children were growing up.  My dear husband, Jim, used to bring me a cup of coffee at 6:00 a.m. to get me started.  My children are grown so now my dogs and cats get me up.  My dogs are indoor dogs so they have to get out early in the morning.  They like a good walk.  I love to walk but not by myself.  I try to get them on a good walk each morning.

     This discussion brings me back to our early morning routine.  Jim and I, for the first 31 years of our marriage, just couldn’t manage devotions together.  Each time we tried–we failed.  I would get frustrated at Jim because he prayed a paragraph for each person on our list.  I just couldn’t handle that.  As we journeyed to the Christian Orthodox faith, we began wanting to pray together again.  We pray liturgical prayers but we also pray our own prayers.  Today we understand that mentioning someone’s name to God is the most important thing we can do.  He already knows the details.  Thus, I’m no longer frustrated with Jim. 

     Jim gets up at 3:00 a.m. to have his own personal time with the Lord.  At 4:00 a.m. he brings our  breakfast to bed.  ( I prepare this the night before)  We eat our breakfast and then talk with Vera for a few minutes.  Then we have our liturgical prayers.  At 5:00 a.m. I get up and get the dogs out, the cats fed, the litter boxes changed and see Jim off for work.  Then at 5:00 a.m. I have my own personal prayers and Bible reading.  After that, I take a quick look at my favorite blogs.  Finally, I’m ready for my walk with the dogs.  Upon arriving home, I get myself cleaned and ready for the day.   I always have a list of things to accomplish each day.  My pet peeve?  I don’t like being interrupted by phone calls.  That is selfish of me and I’m currently working on that weakness in my life.  I don’t watch television.  It is not that I think it is evil, I just have so many interests that television watching has just faded out of my life.

     Mondays are always catch up days.  I do hope to get a pan of spinach lasagna made.  This will be the last time I get to fix it for awhile.  On Thursday, the Orthodox Church begins our Nativity fast.  We refrain from eating meats, dairy products and eggs until Christmas Day.  We will have some days that we can eat fish.  This is so that our focus will be more on the birth of Christ.  Our priest encouraged us to get our Christmas shopping done before this Thursday.  There are so many ways to cook wonderful meals without  meat, dairy and eggs.  Actually, I’m looking forward to this wonderful season.

     I hope each of you have a wonderful day!

Nichole, November 12, 2007

Actions

Information

One response

13 11 2007
Maria

Yes, I am sure that Rudy and Ticky and Sam and Katie keep you busy in the morning! I was, however, horrified to learn that I may be contributing to your “pet peeve.” Perhaps my phone calls get on your nerves. You mentioned that you don’t like to get “interuppted” by phone calls – so it just makes me wonder. Maria

Leave a Reply

